The latest industry news to your inbox.

I'd like to hear about marketing opportunities


I accept IQ Magazine's Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

New signings and rising stars (Nov–Dec 2019)

Baker Grace, newly signed with independent agent Mark Bennett, and Jeffrey Lewis, the latest addition for Progressive Artists’ Shane Daunt, were among the acts added to the rosters of international agents in the final months of 2019.

Find out more, including a full list of new signings, below…


Baker Grace (US)

Agent: Mark Bennett

Eighteen-year-old New Jerseyite Baker Grace began shaping her distinct artistic voice as a child. Self-taught on piano and guitar, she started writing songs at a young age and soon learned that making music “allowed me to escape life while guiding me through it at the same time”.

Not long after releasing 2015 album Bitter’s Kiss, she was discovered by Scott Harris, a hitmaking songwriter/producer known for his work with Shawn Mendes and the Chainsmokers. In collaboration with Harris, she put out a pair of singles with Republic Records: ‘Am I Talking to You?’ and ‘Day I Die’. She also teamed up with producer Ayokay, appearing as the featured vocalist on his 2017 single ’Too Young’.

In 2019, Baker Grace independently released her debut EP, Girl, I Know, and single ‘Sad Summer’. She has since received over 25,000 new Instagram followers, 10 million views on TikTok, 15m streams with support from the likes of Spotify, Apple Music and Tidal, and media support across numerous titles and brands.


Jeffrey Lewis and the Voltage (US)

Agent: Shane Daunt, Progressive Artists

Jeffrey Lewis and the Voltage play a blend of scuzzy urban indie-rock-folk, like a 21st-century mash-up of Sonic Youth, Pete Seeger and R. Crumb.

New Yorker Lewis has pursued a relentless touring schedule since 2002, as well as playing as the opening act for bands like the Mountain Goats, Daniel Johnston, Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks, Dinosaur Jr, the Fall, Dr Dog, Pulp, Roky Erickson, the Vaselines and more.

The Voltage are Brent Cole on drums and Mem Pahl on bass and keys, and are essentially the same band that has been touring between 2016 and 2019 as Jeffrey Lewis and los Bolts, but Lewis continues his tradition of changing the band name with each album. New album Bad Wiring was released 1 November on Moshi Moshi Records in UK/Europe and Don Giovanni Records in the USA.


For full artist listings, including new signings for Primary Talent, UTA, ATC Live, X-ray, Paradigm, ITB and more, see the digital edition of IQ 86:

Get more stories like this in your inbox by signing up for IQ Index, IQ’s free email digest of essential live music industry news.