The latest industry news to your inbox.


I'd like to hear about marketing opportunities


I accept IQ Magazine's Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy


ECSA holds inaugural board meeting

Members of Japan's Entertainment Committee for Stadium · Arena approved ECSA's articles of association and more at its first meeting on 26 April

By IQ on 20 May 2019

1st Entertainment Committee for Stadium · Arena (ECSA) board

image © Hideo Kojima

The Entertainment Committee for Stadium · Arena (ECSA), the new association advocating for Japan’s large venues, held its first executive board meeting on 26 April, with members approving its articles of association and membership terms.

Launched earlier that month, ECSA is a joint venture between Japanese promoters’ association ACPC and Japan Top League (JTL), an alliance of 12 leading sports leagues, that aims to improve and develop Japan’s arena and stadium infrastructure.

At the 26 April meeting, ECSA’s board of directors also agreed on an action plan to support Japan’s large-venue business, with its first goal being rolling up all under-construction stadia and arenas “scattered around the country”.

“We, the sports industry and music industry, have never had a conversation with each other,” says Entertainment Committee president Saburo Kawabuchi, who calls stadia and arenas a common “source of origin to provide entertainment.

“In order to use them in an effective way, we would like to start discussing what we can do.”

The composition of ECSA’s first board of directors and secretariat is as follows:

Board members

  • President: Saburo Kawabuchi (JTL president)
  • Vice-president: Takeo Nakanishi (ACPC chair)
  • Executive board member: Tatsuya Nomura (Federation of Music Producers Japan managing director)
  • Executive board member: Hidenori Nakai (Japan Association of Music Enterprises executive manager)
  • Executive board member: Yusaku Morioka (Japan Sport Association managing director)
  • Executive board member: Kenji Shimaoka (Japan Volleyball League Organisation president)
  • Executive board member: Mitsuru Murai (Japan Professional Football League chairman)
  • Executive board member: Masaaki Okawa (Japan Professional Basketball League chairman)
  • Executive board member: Koji Matsushita (T League chairman)
  • Executive board member: Yoshiyuki Mano (professor, Waseda University Faculty of Sport Sciences)
  • Supervisor: Koichi Tsujii (Lawyer, JTL supervisor, ACPC managing director)


  • Director-general: Yoshinori Taguchi (JTL)
  • Deputy director-general: Hiroto Imaizumi (ACPC)
  • Producer: Nobuhiro Nagai (ACPC)
  • Deputy producer: Katsuhiko Kondo (ACPC)
  • Project manager: Junichi Tayama (ACPC)
  • Secretary: Sayuri Kuriyama

Get more stories like this in your inbox by signing up for IQ Index, IQ’s free digest of essential live music industry news, via email or Messenger.

Comments are closed.