The latest industry news to your inbox.


I'd like to hear about marketing opportunities


I accept IQ Magazine's Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy


European Music Council elects 2018–2020 board

EMC, which has 75 members in 29 countries, welcomes Polish journalist Joanna Grotkowska, CyMIC's Michalis Karakatsanis and Live DMA's Audrey Guerre to its board

By IQ on 14 Jun 2018

Audrey Guerra, Live DMA/EMC

image © Live DMA

The European Music Council (EMC), the Bonn-based NGO that serves as an umbrella organisation for several European industry associations, has elected its board for the next two years.

The UK’s Ian Smith, a former head of Creative Scotland and nominated by Live Music Now Scotland, retains his role as chair, while Norway’s Victoria Liedbergius, of children’s choir association Ung i Kor, is elevated to vice-chair. Willem van Moort, of Dutch arts centre BplusC, was reelected as treasurer.

Joining the board for the first time are Norway’s Eirik Birkeland, of Association Européenne des Conservatoires, which represents classical music education institutions; Polish music critic and journalist Joanna Grotkowska; Cyprus Music Information Centre’s Michalis Karakatsanis; David Zsoldos of JM Hungary, which supports young classical musicians in Hungary; and Audrey Guerre of Live DMA, which says she will focus on “bringing the vision of live music venues and festivals to the discussion”.

“I am super glad to join the EMC board,” comments Guerre (pictured). “I wish to fulfil this mandate by strengthening cooperation in the music sector, and sharing a vision based on music diversity, cultural rights and support for the most vulnerable players.”

Live DMA, which recently turned five, now represents 17 live music associations in 13 countries, including 2,500+ venues and festivals, Guerre wrote in IQ earlier this year:

Stronger together


Get more stories like this in your inbox by signing up for IQ Index, IQ’s free email digest of essential live music industry news.

More news

New Italian association KeepOn Live launches After 14 years as a 'cultural association' for clubs, KeepOn Live hopes to become a "really representative association" for the Italian industry
Thousands enjoy Heritage Concert series at Kenwood... Taking place over two weekends, this years events saw performances from a range of acts including Alfie Boe, Haçienda Classical and Kris...Kristofferson
Terrorists looked to attack festivals in Barcelona... The men responsisble for the terror attacks in Spain last year researched music festivals and clubs to potentially attack next, Spanish police say.
Strong showing for ticketing and live in Vivendi&#... While it has rowed back on plans to float Universal Music Group, French media conglomerate Vivendi continues to grow talent, venue and ticketing...endeavour Vivendi Village
Closing day of Camp Bestival shut down due to bad ... Organisers took the decision to cancel the final day of the festival after thunderstorms, strong winds and rain battered the Dorset site